Administration in Kurukshetra

Law and Order in Kurukshetra

The district has three subdivisions namely Thanesar, Shahbad, Pehowa. The administrative head of the district is the Deputy Commissioner, an officer of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS).  He shares his duty with the Additional Deputy Commissioner –cum- CEO (Chief Executive Officer) and looks after the General Administration of Kurukshetra district. A number of officers of the Haryana State Civil Service serve under the Deputy Commissioner.

Superintendent of Police in Kurukshetra

 The district police are headed by the office of Superintendent of Police (S.P.). His office controls the law and order situations of Kurukshetra district. The S.P. is an Indian Police Service (IPS) cadre. He is assisted by the officers of the Haryana State police force.
The general administration in the sub-divisions, tehsils, blocks and towns are duly run by the corresponding executive officers.

Deputy Conservator of Forests

The issues related to Forest, Wild-life and Environment of the district is looked after by the Deputy Conservator of Forests. The officer is a cadre of Indian Forest Services (IFS). He is assisted by the officers and officials of Haryana State Forest Services.

Judiciary in Kurukshetra

The Kurukshetra District and Sessions Court is responsible  for settling all the matters related to judiciary. All the Civil and Criminal matters are settled by this court which comes under the jurisdiction of  Haryana High Court. This court is headed by a Principal District and Sessions Judge.

The district has a population of 964,655 as per census of 2011. The population density is 631 inhabitants per sq. km.

The Kurukshetra falls under the parliamentary constituency of Kurukshetra along with two other districts namely Kaithal and Yamunanagar. There are four  assembly constituencies in Kurukshetra district namely Thanesar, Pehowa, Ladwa and Shahabad.
In ancient times the Kurukshetra extended all across Haryana and its border coincided with the present Haryana state. Later the Kurukshetra district was formed. The important towns in Kurukshetra districts were Ismailabd, Ladwa, Shahbad, Thanesar and Pehowa. Later the Kurukshetra city was formed. The newly created Kurukshetra city lies close to Thanesar town.

The other important departments like PWD, Health, Education, Animal Husbandry, Agriculture, Child Welfare, Disaster management etc. all of which are headed by the corresponding government officer at the district, sub-division, block and village level.

Municipalities in Kurukshetra

The developmental and other related day to day affairs are run by the corresponding municipalities of the towns.  The important municipalities are the municipalities of Ladwa, Pehowa, Shahabad and  Thanesar. 

Important Telephone Numbers of Kurukshetra

Listed below are the important telephone numbers of Kurukshetra District:

  • Ambulance, (Red Cross) - 102
  • Emergency, Gen. Hospital - 102
  • Railways - 131
  • Roadways - 220468
  • Police - 100
  • Police (City), Thanesar - 292100
  • Police (Sadar), Pipli - 230251
  • Fire Brigade - 101
  • Electric Break Down - 220071
  • Water Supply Complaints - 220358
  • All India Radio - 221336
  • DPRO – 220387

Telephone numbers of the important administrative officers of Kurukshetra:

  • Deputy Commissioner - 220270 - 71 Fax 220935
  • Additional Deputy Commissioner/ CEO - 220731, 226612, 220756
  • City Magistrate - 220273 - 74
  • Sub-Divisional Officer (SDO) (Civil) - 220032, 220352
  • Tehsildar - 220512
  • D.R.O. - 221035, 227555
  • B.D.P.O. (Thanesar) - 290062, 290741
  • D.D.P.O. - 220717, 222040
  • Zila Parishad Chairman - 224617
  • Panchayati Raj - 226821, 291090
  • Block Samiti (Thanesar) Chairman - 290062
  • General Manager of Roadways - 220894, 221921

People calling from places away from Kurkshetra must dial the STD code as prefix to the telephone numbers listed above.

STD Codes of Kurukshetra District

Two different STD codes which exist in Kurukshetra District are:

  • Kurukshetra, Shahabad, Babain and Ladwa have the STD code - (01744) 
  • Pehowa has STD code - (01741)

You may also like to visit

Free Listing